HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 

Hello from Ny

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Buffalo bill

Registration date : 2013-08-04

PostSubject: Hello from Ny   Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:41 pm

Hey guys(and gals) my name is Bill I have been smoking cigars for about 4 years now. My favorite cigar at the moment is 601 la Bomba nuclear . I have been interested in starting up the pipe for a while now and decided to take the leap. I have been looking for a place to learn the do's and dont's of this interesting hobby and here I am.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Growley

Registration date : 2012-04-10

PostSubject: Re: Hello from Ny   Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:14 pm

Welcome! You'll definitely learn a lot here. Here are some most likely obvious thoughts for ya to get ya started.

Don't expect a pipe to smoke like a cigar... for a lot of reasons. I say this mostly because my brother-in-law, who also came from cigars apparently didn't know some of the following...

1. Don't expect cigar-class volumes of smoke to come with every puff. Different pipes, packs, tobaccos and on and on produce different amounts of smoke.

2.Don't rush smoking a pipe. Take your time and ease into a flow that works for you. Pipes are hands on and require re-lights, tamps and so on.

3. If it goes out, don't think you did something wrong. The concept of a two-light smoke for pipes is a pipe dream in my opinion. It just doesn't happen every time, nor does it need to.

4. Everybody has their way of doing things around here. That's because there are lots of ways to smoke a pipe well. Some ways work better for some.

5. As in the cigar world, a high priced tin doesn't always equal the best smoke to fit your tastes. There are lots of good tobaccos out there that won't break the bank.

I hope that helps some. Enjoy the site, and welcome!

Brian.