HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 

Cellaring Flake Tobacco

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
TheLowlyApprentice

Registration date : 2016-02-14

PostSubject: Cellaring Flake Tobacco   Tue Mar 01, 2016 1:10 pm

I'm a newbie pipe smoker and have a question about the best way to cellar flake tobacco.

I've already cellared some ribbon cut tobacco in mason jars, but I have no experience yet in cellaring flake.

Do you try to maintain the flake's structure when putting it in the mason jars, or do you just try to press as much as you can in the jar no matter what happens to the flake structure?

I'm concerned that if I try to maintain the flake's structure when putting it in the jars, that it will leave too much air in the jar leading to a drying out of the tobacco.

Any advice would be appeciated.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AJ

Registration date : 2012-03-18

PostSubject: Re: Cellaring Flake Tobacco   Tue Mar 01, 2016 2:57 pm

Because I rub my flakes out before loading my pipe I just pack as much as the jar will hold. I've never had a problem using this method. Smile

AJ
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ZeroContent

Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Cellaring Flake Tobacco   Tue Mar 01, 2016 3:37 pm

yeah, either cram as much as you can regardless of out come or use jars that are as tall as the flakes are long and you can stand them up in the jar. Or a jar that's half the height and just slice the flakes in half depending on how you're buying. I know SG's 250g packages have pretty big flakes compared to what's in a 50g tin.

Happy cellaring.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.teantobacco.com
Ozark Wizard

Registration date : 2014-10-11

PostSubject: Re: Cellaring Flake Tobacco   Tue Mar 01, 2016 4:09 pm

Here's my tuppence.......