HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 

Savinelli's... filter, adapter, or nothing at all?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Old Nate
Not Really Old

Registration date : 2014-08-27

PostSubject: Savinelli's... filter, adapter, or nothing at all?   Wed Jun 22, 2016 8:24 pm

I have a great Sav Roma 677ks. This pipe doesn't owe me a dime and I've been smoking it for 3 years without a filter, no 6mm blank/adapter and it's been great... for some reason I bought little 6mm adapters and I hate the way it smokes now. Smokes wet, seems to lose the flavor... maybe my mind is playing tricks on me, but I finally gave up and took it out tonight and it delivered a great smoke loaded with some Anniversary Kake...

Just wondering how others smoke their Savinelli pipes?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DrumsAndBeer

Registration date : 2012-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Savinelli's... filter, adapter, or nothing at all?   Wed Jun 22, 2016 8:42 pm

I don't own any Savinelli 6mm dry system pipes, but I do own a few Vauen 9mm pipes and they smoke great w/o filters or adapters. I am always careful to swab the filter chamber out with a Q-tip afterwards but the open draw is quite delightful.

Poor man's reverse calabash! Hahaha....
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brewdude

Registration date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Savinelli's... filter, adapter, or nothing at all?   Wed Jun 22, 2016 8:55 pm

My second pipe, a humble Sav 316 rusticated, came with with triangular balsa filters. I tried these for a period of time, and came to the conclusion they weren't necessary.

I've been smoking it quite happily without the filters since '01 or so.

Cheers,

RR
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.fallsbrew.com
MisterE

Registration date : 2009-08-24

PostSubject: Re: Savinelli's... filter, adapter, or nothing at all?   Wed Jun 22, 2016 11:08 pm