HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Share | 

Hello. My name is Dino & I have TAD.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Bonanzadriver

Registration date : 2017-04-12

PostSubject: Hello. My name is Dino & I have TAD.   Wed May 10, 2017 10:33 am

Being the relative noob here @ BoB, I realize that my modest pipe stable and tobacco crawl space (not big enough to be a cellar Razz ) are really nothing more than a "good start" compared to the briar & leaf collection many of you here have amassed.

Not being one to shy away from a challenge I am doing my dead level best to correct this.

A month or so ago I was perusing ebay looking for "tobacco jars". I wanted a couple of good sized jars for some of my fave's, ya know, MM 965, Frog Morton, Margate, etc...

Well I happened upon a fella in PA that was selling 29 Anchor Hocking Tobacco Jars. The seller didn't want to ship em, and to be frank, he was asking too much for them to begin with. (Ya'll know I'm a csob right?) This guy has an ebay store and is always buying inventory from stores that are going out or are outta business. Over a few days we exchanged several emails and talked on the phone a couple of times.

Oh, did I mention that most of these jars still have tobacco in em? Yup, he bought 29 jars from a C.B. Perkins that went outta business. He's not a pipe smoker and told me that he was probably just gonna "Throw the Stuff Out"! Surprised I know right?!?!? (I think he could sense my TADness over the phone and was just messin with me)

I had him open a couple of the jars and check the tobacco, he stated that it didn't seem dried out at all and some of them were surprisingly moist. I know, I know, what the heck does this guy know right? Regardless, the tobacco, if it's smokeable, is just a bonus, I was really after the jars.